The 1998 Synod of the Diocese of the United Kingdom was convened on 4th July at St Brihtwold’s Church, Worton, Nr Devizes, Wiltshire, by the Episcopal Visitor, The Right Revd Mark Haverland.

After celebrating the Synod Mass, Bishop Haverland met with diocesan representatives and other guests over lunch in Worton Village Hall. The main business of the Synod was to reorganise the diocese in the wake of traumatic events over the previous year.

Bishop Haverland confirmed the Very Revd Patrick J. McEune as Vicar General of the diocese and appointed Mr David Haste to be secretary and treasurer. Sir Michael Hanley was appointed historiographer.

The diocesan Standing Committee, currently acting as Guardians of the Spiritualties were the Revd Noel Dickson, the Rev Kenneth Radley and the Revd Joseph Walker in the House of Clergy. For the laity Mrs A. Hall, Sir Michael Hanley and Mrs C. Karn were elected.