During the XX Diocesan Synod the Bishop made his 2011 Award to a member of the Laity who has shown exceptional commitment to the work and ministry of the Anglican Catholic Church.

This year the award went to Mr Roy Hipkiss, a member of St Augustine’s Church, Canterbury. Mr Hipkiss, who is also a member of the Council of Advice and the Diocesan Child Protection Officer, was especially thanked for the considerable assitance he gives the bishop; acting as Chauffeur to him and serving for him when he travels to say Mass.

Thanks was also expressed to Roy’s 14 year old daughter Jemima who had acted as the ‘official’ diocesan photographer at Synod and who was therefore responsible for the excellent photographs taken on the day!

Roy Hipkiss joins Dr Roy Fidge (St Mary & St Eanswythe, Dartford, Kent) who received the Inaugural Bishops Award in 2009 and Mrs Patricia Johnson (St Alban the Martyr, Salford, Greater Manchester) who received hers in 2010.